News & Events

NH Audubon Recognizes Individuals for Their Conservation Efforts at 105th Annual Meeting

At its 105th  Annual Meeting on September 21, NH Audubon announced its 2019 conservation award winners:
Tudor Richards Award – Ben Haubrich of Francestown, NH
Goodhue-Elkins Award – Iain MacLeod of Ashland, NH
John Thalheimer Volunteer Award – Janice Hood formerly of Litchfield, NH
President’s Award – Dr. Michael Dutton, of the Weare Animal Hospital and Hopkinton Animal Hospital
(For details on each recipient, click the links below)

Ben Haubrich receives the Tudor Richards Award from Francie Von Mertens at NH Audubon’s Annual Meeting 9-21-19. Photo by Dyanna Smith.

The Tudor Richards Award was presented to Ben Haubrich of Francestown, NH for working tirelessly and effectively for conservation in the Granite State. The list of Ben’s volunteer work on behalf of New Hampshire’s natural resources is long and encompasses many organizations. He is a driving force behind the Francestown Land Trust, securing grants and monitoring easements. He leads field trips where he shares his knowledge of nature, creates trails, and volunteers on boards and committees for local environmental organizations. The sweep of Ben’s land protection work, land stewardship, advocacy, and knowledge of the natural world is broad and inspiring.
Iain MacLeod receives the Goodhue-Elkins Award from Chris Martin at NH Audubon’s Annual Meeting 9-21-19. Photo by Dyanna Smith.

The Goodhue-Elkins Award was given to Iain MacLeod of Ashland, NH for outstanding contributions to our knowledge of New Hampshire birds. From the time that Iain settled in the Granite State, he has been involved in New Hampshire birding and especially with raptors, one of his life’s great passions. He volunteers to monitor Osprey and Bald Eagle nests in the Lakes Region, build nest platforms, and monitor hawk migration. As Executive Director at the Squam Lakes Natural Science Center in Holderness he implemented Project OspreyTrack, an educational initiative that followed New Hampshire Ospreys and revealed to people their amazing long-distance travels. For over 30 years, Iain MacLeod has been advancing our understanding and appreciation of New Hampshire birds.
Janice Hood receives the Volunteer of the Year Award from Dawn Genes at NH Audubon’s Annual Meeting 9-21-19. Photo by Dyanna Smith.

The John Thalheimer Volunteer Award was presented to Janice Hood formerly of Litchfield, NH. Janice has been an active volunteer for NH Audubon since the spring of 2006, volunteering every month at the Massabesic Center in Auburn, NH. She has presented programs to school groups, helped create exciting family programs at the Center, and assisted with fundraising efforts, securing donated items and sponsorships. She was instrumental in the creation of the annual Earth Day Festival, an event that draws hundreds of people each spring. Janice volunteers wherever she is, focusing on what she considers most important, “my children and environmental education.”
Dr. Michael Dutton receives the President’s Award from Doug Bechtel at NH Audubon’s Annual Meeting 9-21-19. Photo by Dyanna Smith.

The President’s Award was given to veterinarian Dr. Michael Dutton for outstanding commitment to NH Audubon’s mission and success. Dr. Dutton has provided invaluable service to our captive wildlife, providing medical care and treatment of our raptors and other animals. He is an ambassador for the importance of animals to our health and happiness. Dr. Dutton is a key partner in helping us connect people to nature through hands-on experiences with healthy captive animals.